Home / Fee board Airport Security Fee, on arrival 1 Amount US$20, payable in dollars, euros, pounds or dalasi 1 Who collects Securiport staff at marked terminal kiosks 1 ,5 Who pays Arriving passengers, except children aged 1 or under and transit passengers 1 Legal basis or source Government contract with Securiport, as described by the National Audit Office 5 Status Live, as of 7 July 2026 1 Airport Security Fee, on departure 1 Amount US$20, payable in dollars, euros, pounds or dalasi 1 Who collects Securiport staff at marked terminal kiosks 1 ,5 Who pays Departing passengers, except children aged 1 or under and transit passengers 1 Legal basis or source Government contract with Securiport, as described by the National Audit Office 5 Status Live, as of 7 July 2026 1 Immigration Security System Levy (original name of the security fee) 6 Amount US$20 per arriving and per departing passenger 6 Who collects Collection booths at Banjul International Airport 6 Who pays Arriving and departing passengers 6 Legal basis or source GCAA letter to airlines, with immediate effect 6 Status Historical, announced September 2020 6 Security fee revenue share 7 Amount US$15 (75 percent) to Securiport, US$5 (25 percent) to GCAA 7 Who collects Joint GCAA and Securiport bank account 7 Who pays Paid out of the US$20 fee 7 Legal basis or source Contract terms, per National Audit Office 7 Status Contract term reported February 2023 7 Security fee for diplomatic passport holders 8 Who collects Not applicable 8 Who pays Diplomatic passport holders 8 Legal basis or source Government spokesperson statement. The audit office called non-payment a contract breach 8 Status Exempt per government, March 2023 8 Security fee for service passport holders 8 Amount Exemption removed by contract addendum 8 Who collects Securiport staff at kiosks 5 Who pays Service passport holders 8 Legal basis or source Government spokesperson statement 8 Status Reported March 2023 8 Passenger service charge 2 Who collects Not stated on the GCAA schedule 2 Who pays Each departing passenger 2 Legal basis or source GCAA airport charges schedule 2 Status Listed, schedule posted January 2024 2 Passenger service charge, increase 3 Who pays Departing passengers 3 Legal basis or source GCAA announcement 3 Status Announced January 2023 for 1 May, not confirmed 3 ,2 Security charge (GCAA) 2 Who collects Not stated on the GCAA schedule 2 Who pays Each departing passenger 2 Legal basis or source GCAA airport charges schedule 2 Status Listed, schedule posted January 2024 2 Security charges, increase 3 Amount US$25 per departing and US$25 per arriving passenger 3 Who collects Not stated. Manual Securiport collection to stop 3 Who pays Departing and arriving passengers 3 Legal basis or source GCAA announcement 3 Status Announced January 2023 for 1 May, not confirmed 3 ,1 Airport development fee 2 Who collects Not stated on the GCAA schedule 2 Who pays Each departing passenger 2 Legal basis or source GCAA airport charges schedule 2 Status Listed, schedule posted January 2024 2 Passenger Safety Levy 3 Who pays Each departing passenger 3 Legal basis or source GCAA announcement. Funds the Gambian contribution to BAGASOO 3 Status Announced January 2023 for 1 May, not confirmed 3 ,2 Banjul Accord Group passenger safety charge 9 Who pays Passengers on international commercial departing flights 9 Legal basis or source Banjul Accord Group decision 9 Status Agreed May 2025, phased from 1 January 2026 to 2030 9 Sales tax on air tickets 5 Who pays Buyers of air tickets 5 Legal basis or source Cited in National Audit Office report 5 Status Referenced February 2023 5 Entry visa 4 Amount D3,000, proposed D7,000 4 Who collects Gambia Immigration Department 10 Who pays Visitors who need a visa 4 Legal basis or source 2023 budget speech by the finance minister 4 Status Rise proposed December 2022, not confirmed 4 Entry clearance 4 Amount D3,000, proposed D7,000 4 Who collects Gambia Immigration Department 10 Who pays Visitors who need entry clearance 4 Legal basis or source 2023 budget speech by the finance minister 4 Status Rise proposed December 2022, not confirmed 4 Extension of stay 4 Who collects Gambia Immigration Department 4 Who pays Visitors staying beyond their permitted period 4 Legal basis or source 2023 budget speech by the finance minister 4 Status Unchanged in December 2022 proposal 4 Transit visa 10 Who collects Gambian missions abroad 10 Who pays Travellers passing through to another country 10 Legal basis or source Gambia Immigration Department visa page 10 Status Live, undated page 10 Entry clearance, 2011 rate 11 Amount D1,000, up from free 11 Who collects Gambia Immigration Department 11 Who pays Non-ECOWAS foreign nationals 11 Legal basis or source Immigration fee increase reported January 2011 11 Entry visa, 2011 rate 11 Amount D1,000, up from D300 11 Who collects Gambia Immigration Department 11 Who pays Non-ECOWAS foreign nationals 11 Legal basis or source Immigration fee increase reported January 2011 11 Extension of stay at point of entry, 2011 rate 11 Amount D500, up from D200 11 Who collects Gambia Immigration Department 11 Who pays Non-ECOWAS foreign nationals 11 Legal basis or source Immigration fee increase reported January 2011 11 Customs duty on goods above personal allowances 12 Amount Not stated in the brochure 12 Who collects Gambia Revenue Authority customs 12 Who pays Anyone entering with goods above the allowances 12 Legal basis or source GRA prohibition and restriction list 12 Status Live, undated brochure 12 Airport Security Fee, dalasi equivalent 14 Amount D1,200 for US$20, up from D1,000, per Securiport 14 Who collects Securiport staff at kiosks 14 Who pays Passengers paying in dalasi 14 Legal basis or source Company statement. Contract fee stays US$20 14 Status Reported June 2023. Ministry of Interior said no rise approved 14 Duty-free personal allowances 12 Amount No duty on 200 cigarettes or 50 cigars, 1 litre of spirits or wine or 24 cans of beer, 500 ml of perfume 12 Who collects Gambia Revenue Authority customs 12 Who pays Each person entering, including returning Gambians 12 Legal basis or source GRA prohibition and restriction list 12 Status Live, undated brochure 12 Currency declaration 13 Amount No charge. Declaration required above US$10,000 or the equivalent 13 Who collects Gambia Revenue Authority customs 13 Who pays Travellers carrying more than US$10,000 13 Legal basis or source GRA customs FAQ 13 Status Live, undated page 13 Passengers' baggage exemption 15 Amount No duty on wearing apparel and used personal or household effects 15 Who collects Gambia Revenue Authority customs 13 Who pays Arriving travellers 15 Legal basis or source GRA exemptions brochure 15 Status Live, undated brochure 15 Import duty on second-hand vehicles 13 Amount 25 percent of CIF value 13 Who collects Gambia Revenue Authority customs 13 Who pays Importers of used vehicles 13 Legal basis or source GRA customs FAQ 13 Status Live, undated page 13 Excise duty on second-hand vehicles 13 Amount 20 percent of CIF plus import duty 13 Who collects Gambia Revenue Authority customs 13 Who pays Importers of used vehicles 13 Legal basis or source GRA customs FAQ 13 Status Live, undated page 13 VAT on second-hand vehicles 13 Amount 16 percent of CIF plus import duty and excise duty 13 Who collects Gambia Revenue Authority customs 13 Who pays Importers of used vehicles 13 Legal basis or source GRA customs FAQ 13 Status Live, undated page 13 IDF on second-hand vehicles 13 Amount 2.25 percent of CIF or D45,000, whichever is higher 13 Who collects Gambia Revenue Authority customs 13 Who pays Importers of used vehicles 13 Legal basis or source GRA customs FAQ. The same page gives a general IDF minimum of D5,000 13 Status Live, undated page 13 Returning Gambian student vehicle exemption 13 Amount No duty on one vehicle no older than 8 years 13 Who collects Gambia Revenue Authority customs 13 Who pays Gambians studying abroad for at least two years 13 Legal basis or source GRA customs FAQ 13 Status Live, undated page 13 Special exemption for disabled persons 13 Amount Exempt from import duty 13 Who collects Gambia Revenue Authority customs 13 Who pays Disabled, blind and physically handicapped persons 13 Legal basis or source GRA customs FAQ 13 Status Live, undated page 13 Returning mission and peacekeeping personnel 15 Amount Exempt from import duty 15 Who collects Gambia Revenue Authority customs 15 Who pays Returning Gambian foreign mission staff and security personnel back from UN peacekeeping 15 Legal basis or source GRA exemptions brochure 15 Status Live, undated brochure 15 Air cargo handling, GIA 16 Amount GMD 220 for 1 to 100 kg, then GMD 2.2 per extra kg 16 Who collects Gambia International Airlines 16 Who pays Air cargo shippers and consignees 16 Legal basis or source Handler tariff listed by WFP Logistics Cluster 16 Status Historical, prices as of 1 November 2011 16 Air cargo handling, Redcoat 16 Amount GMD 525 for 1 to 100 kg 16 Who pays Air cargo shippers and consignees 16 Legal basis or source Handler tariff listed by WFP Logistics Cluster 16 Status Historical, prices as of 1 November 2011 16 Ground handling out-of-hours surcharge 16 Amount 25 percent on Sundays, public holidays and from 1900 to 0700 UTC 16 Who collects Cargo handling agents at the airport 16 Who pays Users of cargo handling 16 Legal basis or source Handler tariff listed by WFP Logistics Cluster 16 Status Historical, prices as of 1 November 2011 16 Cargo storage, GIA 16 Amount First week free, then GMD 1.10 per kg per day for uncleared goods 16 Who collects Gambia International Airlines 16 Who pays Importers of uncleared air cargo 16 Legal basis or source Handler tariff listed by WFP Logistics Cluster 16 Status Historical, prices as of 1 November 2011 16 Cargo storage, Redcoat 16 Amount Five days free, then GMD 2.00 per kg per day for uncollected goods 16 Who pays Importers of uncollected air cargo 16 Legal basis or source Handler tariff listed by WFP Logistics Cluster 16 Status Historical, prices as of 1 November 2011 16 Air cargo rates, GIA, current 17 Amount Not published. GIA says all rates are inclusive 17 Who collects Gambia International Airlines 17 Who pays Air cargo shippers and consignees 17 Legal basis or source Provider page 17 Status Live, viewed October 2026 17 Landing fee 2 Amount Per tonne: £3.00 up to 24.99 t, £4.00 to 74.99 t, £6.00 to 100 t, £7.00 above 100 t 2 Who collects Gambia Civil Aviation Authority 2 Who pays Aircraft operators 2 Legal basis or source GCAA airport charges schedule 2 Status Listed, schedule posted January 2024 2 Aircraft parking 2 Amount First six hours free, then 60 pence per tonne per 24 hours. The schedule elsewhere shows 60 pence per tonne per hour 2 Who collects Gambia Civil Aviation Authority 2 Who pays Aircraft operators 2 Legal basis or source GCAA airport charges schedule 2 Status Listed, schedule posted January 2024 2 Temporal air service charge 2 Amount $250 short haul (regional), $625 long haul 2 Who collects Gambia Civil Aviation Authority 2 Who pays Aircraft operators 2 Legal basis or source GCAA airport charges schedule 2 Status Listed, schedule posted January 2024 2 Late licence renewal fine 18 Amount GMD 2,000 per day, for up to three months after expiry 18 Who collects Gambia Civil Aviation Authority 18 Who pays GCAA licence holders 18 Legal basis or source GCAA air transport page 18 Status Live, undated page 18 Nothing matches. Clear the search or pick another filter.
Notes The GCAA schedule carries no date or legal reference. The file was posted in January 2024 2 . The Securiport contract lists five exempt passenger categories, as reported by Dubawa. This site could not see the contract, so only the exemptions named by official sources are shown 8 . The UK government says card machines at the kiosks are often out of service 1 . Cargo handling and storage rates come from a WFP assessment with prices as of 1 November 2011. No current published cargo tariff was found 16 ,17 . Rules and charges change. Check the official source linked on this page before you pay or travel. Spotted an error? Email hello@gambiaairportguide.com .
Sources UK Foreign, Commonwealth and Development Office: The Gambia travel advice, entry requirements (updated 7 July 2026) Gambia Civil Aviation Authority: Airport charges, Banjul International Airport (undated schedule, file posted January 2024) The Point, as reported by Ali Jaw: GCAA to increase flight passenger charges (27 January 2023) The Point, as reported by Jankey Ceesay: Immigration fees for non-Gambians to register huge increase (5 December 2022) The Point, as reported by Adama Tine: NAO demands review of Securiport project by govt (10 February 2023) Gambiana, as reported by Adama Makasuba: Gambia govt faces backlash over new US$20 travel levy for air travellers (8 September 2020) The Point, as reported by Adama Tine: Govt loses 7 month share to Securiport (9 February 2023) Dubawa, as reported by Mariam Sankanu: Assessing Securiport contract breach and its subsequent chaos (6 March 2023) BusinessDay, as reported by Favour Okpale: Banjul Accord Group adopts US$1 passenger levy to fund aviation safety (22 May 2025) Gambia Immigration Department: Visa services (undated page) The Point, as reported by Momodou Faal: Immigration announces fee increase (18 January 2011) Gambia Revenue Authority: Prohibition and restriction list (undated brochure) Gambia Revenue Authority: Customs FAQs (undated page) The Point: Securiport denies fee increment (2 June 2023) Gambia Revenue Authority: Exemptions from customs duty (undated brochure) WFP Logistics Cluster: Logistics Capacity Assessment, Gambia Banjul International Airport (figures dated 2011) Gambia International Airlines: Cargo (provider page, viewed October 2026) Gambia Civil Aviation Authority: Air transport (official page, undated)